DECISION

 

United States Filter Corporation v. Purlzer Corporation

Claim Number: FA0106000097377

 

PARTIES

The Complainant is United States Filter Corporation, Lowell, MA, USA (“Complainant”) represented by Frank P. Presta, of Nixon & Vanderhye, P.C.  The Respondent is Purizer Corporation, Oak Brook, IL, USA (“Respondent”) represented by Matthew P. Pasulka.

 

REGISTRAR AND DISPUTED DOMAIN NAME 

The domain name at issue is <bioxide.com>, registered with Network Solutions, Inc.

 

PANEL

The undersigned certifies that he has acted independently and impartially and to the best of his knowledge, has no known conflict in serving as Panelist in this proceeding.

 

John J. Upchurch as Panelist.

 

PROCEDURAL HISTORY

Complainant submitted a Complaint to the National Arbitration Forum (“the Forum”) electronically on June 6, 2001; the Forum received a hard copy of the Complaint on June 11, 2001.

 

On June 7, 2001, Network Solutions, Inc. confirmed by e-mail to the Forum that the domain name <bioxide.com> is registered with Network Solutions, Inc. and that the Respondent is the current registrant of the name.  Network Solutions, Inc. has verified that Respondent is bound by the Network Solutions, Inc. 5.0 registration agreement and has thereby agreed to resolve domain-name disputes brought by third parties in accordance with ICANN’s Uniform Domain Name Dispute Resolution Policy (the “Policy”).

 

On June 18, 2001, a Notification of Complaint and Commencement of Administrative Proceeding (the “Commencement Notification”), setting a deadline of July 9, 2001 by which Respondent could file a Response to the Complaint, was transmitted to Respondent via e-mail, post and fax, to all entities and persons listed on Respondent’s registration as technical, administrative and billing contacts, and to postmaster@bioxide.com by e-mail.

 

A timely response was received and determined to be complete on July 9, 2001.

 

On July 16, 2001 a timely additional submission was received from Complainant.

 

On July 16, 2001, pursuant to Complainant’s request to have the dispute decided by a single-member Panel, the Forum appointed John J. Upchurch as Panelist.

 

RELIEF SOUGHT

Complainant requests that the domain name be transferred from Respondent to Complainant.

 

PARTIES’ CONTENTIONS

A. Complainant

            Complainant asserts that the subject domain name is substantially identical to Complainant’s previously used trademark and service mark BIOXIDE.

            Complainant has rights in its federally registered mark, and Respondent has no rights or legitimate interests in respect of the domain name; and the domain name has been registered and is being used in bad faith.

 

B. Respondent

            Respondent asserts that Complainant has failed to demonstrate any evidence that shows the Complainant has any rights to the subject domain name or why Respondent should be considered as having no rights or legitimate interests.

 

            Respondent asserts Complainant has failed to demonstrate any evidence of bad faith on the part of Respondent.

 

C. Additional Submissions

            Complainant submitted evidence of a chain of assignments in and to Complainant’s BIOXIDE mark vesting the named Complainant with ownership of the mark’s federal registration.

 

FINDINGS

Complainant has failed to establish the requisite elements for transfer of the domain name.

 

DISCUSSION

Paragraph 15(a) of the Rules for Uniform Domain Name Dispute Resolution Policy (the “Rules”) instructs this Panel to “decide a complaint on the basis of the statements and documents submitted in accordance with the Policy, these Rules and any rules and principles of law that it deems applicable.”

 

Paragraph 4(a) of the Policy requires that the Complainant must prove each of the following three elements to obtain an order that a domain name should be cancelled or transferred:

 

(1) the domain name registered by the Respondent is identical or confusingly similar to a trademark or service mark in which the Complainant has rights;

(2) the Respondent has no rights or legitimate interests in respect of the domain name; and

(3) the domain name has been registered and is being used in bad faith.

 

Identical and/or Confusingly Similar

The domain name is identical to Complainant’s federally registered trademark and service mark.  See Pomellato S.p.A v. Tonetti, D2000-0493 (WIPO July 7, 2000) (finding <pomellato.com> identical to Complainant’s mark because the generic top-level domain (gTLD) “.com” after the name POMELLATO is not relevant).

 

Rights or Legitimate Interests

Respondent has a legitimate interest in the disputed domain name because it has used it in connection with legitimate and substantial offering of goods and services since 1997, and became commonly known by the domain name.  See Bankinter S.A. v. BI Fin. Inc.,

 

D2000-0460 (WIPO Sept. 5, 2000) (finding that Respondent has rights and legitimate interests in the domain name where Respondent is using the domain name for a legitimate and fair purpose and there is evidence that it is known by the disputed domain name).

 

Registration and Use in Bad Faith

There is no showing to counter Respondent’s claim that the domain names were registered and used in good faith and that no confusion has or will result from Respondent’s use of the domain names.  Complainant has not offered any evidence to demonstrate bad faith.  See Schering Aktiengesellschaft v. Metagen GmbH, D2000-0728 (WIPO Sept. 11, 2000) (finding that the Respondent did not register or use the domain name <metagen.com> in bad faith where Respondent registered the domain name in connection with a fair business interest and no likelihood of confusion was created); see also Mule Lighting, Inc. v. CPA, FA 95558 (Nat. Arb. Forum Oct. 17, 2000) (finding no bad faith where Respondent has an active website that has been in use for two years and where there was no intent to cause confusion with the Complainant’s website and business); see also Energy Source Inc. v. Your Energy Source, FA 96364 (Nat. Arb. Forum Feb. 19, 2001) (finding that Respondent successfully rebutted Complainant’s averments that it registered and used the domain name at issue in bad faith and that Complainant produced no credible evidence of bad faith on the part of Respondent).

 

DECISION

The request for transfer of the subject domain name is hereby denied.

 

 

John J. Upchurch, Panelist

 

Dated:  July 23, 2001

 

 

 

 

Click Here to return to the main Domain Decisions Page.

Click Here to return to our Home Page