|
SEE AMENDMENT TO ADMINISTRATIVE PANEL DECISION
NETGROCER, INC.
vs.
ANCHOR
ADMINISTRATIVE PANEL DECISION No.: FA0002000094207
Complainant is NetGrocer, Inc., located at 1112 Corporate Road, North Brunswick, N.J. 08902 ("Complainant"). Respondent is Anchor, located at 7131 West Yarmouth Ct., West Bloomfield, MI 48322 ("Respondent"). The domain name at issue is <netgrocer.org>. The registrar is Register.com, Inc. (the "Registrar"), 575 Eighth Ave., 11th Floor, New York, NY 10018. The National Arbitration Forum (the "Forum") received the complaint on February 25, 2000. The Forum verified that the complaint satisfies the formal requirements of the ICANN Uniform Domain Name Dispute Resolution Policy (the "Policy"), the Rules for Uniform Domain Name Dispute Resolution Policy (the "Rules"), and the Supplemental Rules for Uniform Domain Name Dispute Resolution Policy (the "Supplemental Rules"). The Forum thereafter sent the Respondent a notification of the administrative proceeding together with copies of the complaint. This notification was sent by the methods required under paragraph 2(a) of the Rules. The formal date of the commencement of this administrative proceeding is February 29, 2000. On March 7, 2000, the Registrar verified to the Forum that:
Respondent did not submit a response to the complaint within twenty (20) days as required by Rule 5(a). The Administrative Panel issues its decision below based upon the complaint, the filed documents, the Policy, the Rules, and the Supplemental Rules without the benefit of any response from Respondent.
Complainant first used the NETGROCER mark in commerce on May 4, 1997. Complainant is currently the owner of the registered United States service mark NETGROCER (Registration No. 2,217,548) which was issued on January 12, 1999 for computerized on-line ordering services featuring consumer goods, namely groceries, in class 42 (U.S. CLS.100 and 101). Complainant also has two pending trademark applications for NetGrocer (App. Nos. 75/508,254 and 75/480,948). In addition, Complainant registered the domain name <netgrocer.com> in 1995 and has widely used this domain name on the Internet. Respondent registered the domain name <netgrocer.org> on December 31,1999. No evidence was presented suggesting that there is an active web site associated with the <netgrocer.org> domain name.
To obtain relief under paragraph 4(a) of the Policy, the Complainant must prove each of the following:
In this case, it is clear that the domain name registered by Respondent is identical to the registered service mark owned by Complainant. The distinction between .org and .com is not significant in determining similarity. The panel finds that the domain name is identical to and confusingly similar to Complainants registered service mark. Under paragraph 4(c) of the Policy, evidence of a registrants rights or legitimate interest in the domain name includes:
Respondent has made no showing with respect to any of the above factors. Similarly, Complainant has asserted, without providing any affirmative evidence, that Respondent has no rights or legitimate interest in the domain name. Despite the limited evidence, the Panel believes that it is reasonable to infer that Respondent has no rights or legitimate interest in the domain name which is essentially identical to Complainants registered service mark, NETGROCER.
Under paragraph 4(b) of the Policy, evidence of Respondents bad faith registration and use includes:
The Panel finds that the Complainant has not met its burden of proof on the issue of bad faith registration and use. There is no evidence of an attempt by Registrant to sell the domain name for profit. There is no evidence that Respondent engages in a pattern of registering the trademarks of others as domain names. There is no evidence that Respondent registered the domain name for the purpose of disrupting the business of a competitor. Indeed, there is no evidence of any use, much less bad faith use, of the contested domain name. Finally, the record contains insufficient evidence to establish that Respondent intentionally attempted to create a likelihood of confusion with Complainants mark which, after all, was not registered with the U.S. PTO until after Respondent had registered the domain name in question. Accordingly, the Panel finds that Complainant has failed to meet its burden of proof on a prima facie issue: Registrants bad faith in the registration and use of the contested domain name. Accordingly, under the standards applicable to this proceeding, the Panel concludes that Complainant is not entitled to relief on the record presented.
We find in favor of Respondent and deny Complainants request for relief under paragraph 4 (i) of the Policy.
Date: April 7, 2000 Nelson A. Diaz Presiding Panelist
AMENDMENT TO ADMINISTRATIVE
PANEL DECISION
THE NATIONAL ARBITRATION FORUM
NETGROCER, INC. COMPLAINANT, vs. ANCHOR RESPONDENT. File No.: FA0002000094207 This is an Amendment to the Administrative Panel Decision with regard to the domain name dispute between the parties. The last sentence in the second to last paragraph in 6. Discussion and Findings above should read as follows: "Finally, the record contains insufficient evidence to establish that Respondent intentionally attempted to create a likelihood of confusion with Complainants mark by registering the domain name <netgrocer.org>." The remainder of 6. Discussion and Findings remains unchanged. Having considered the above revision, the Panel reiterates its finding that Complainant has not met its burden of proof on the issue of bad faith registration and use of the contested domain name. Accordingly, the Panel reaffirms its decision in favor of Respondent and denies Complainants request for relief under paragraph 4(i) of the Policy. Date: April 11, 2000Nelson A. Diaz Presiding Panelist
|